How and Why I Got Into Hand Lettering and Doodling

How and Why I Got Into Hand Lettering and Doodling

During Christmas 2015, I received a book entitled ” The ABC’s of Hand Lettering ” as a present but I didn’t read it as much until around February 2016. Before I read the book, I didn’t know what to expect since I didn’t fully understand what hand lettering was. After I finished the book, I already wanted to get my hands on the materials I needed and officially started practicing around 1 month later. I was also able to start an art account on Instagram because my aim was, and still, is to see my progress and to hopefully inspire other people. I then signed up for my very first art workshop which was around April or May 2016. Since I was so excited for it, I couldn’t sleep the night before! The workshop was held in Fully Booked BGC and it was called ” Letters and Colors “. It was hosted by two of my favorite artists, Abbey Sy and Tippy Go of Googly Gooeys. It was quite nerve-racking but I was also really happy at the same time.

IMG_0002.JPGA few months later, I wanted to start doodling again since I’ve always had a love for arts and crafts and drawing ever since I was little ( I guess I got it from my dad since he draws as well ). So, I decided to join another workshop called ” Watercolor Doodles ” which was also hosted by Tippy Go. It was a fun workshop because I learned lots of new tips and tricks. With that, I also tried brush lettering. I still continue to post my works on Instagram and seeing how far I’ve come is literally one of the best feelings in the world.IMG_0003

Well, I hope you enjoyed this blog post and I’ll see you in the next one! 😊

– Mars ✨

Leave a Reply

